Drawing

First post on the blog!

I started to learn how to draw on February. I am using the instruction book The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain by Betty Edwards.

Some of you might wonder why an undergrad studying engineering is learning to draw. Shouldn’t I be practicing maths (well I am) instead?

Reasons for learning to draw

  • Develop my creativity
  • View the world in a new perspective
  • Develop my Right Brain

What I enjoy about this course is the gratifying results I see at the end of each exercise. Drawing what I see and not actually drawing the object produce some tingling sensation on my brain. For example, instead of drawing a symbol of a mouth, I drew the contours of the mouth, the light and shadows on it…

I think drawing is a great hobby for students studying left brain dominated subjects, Accounting, Engineering, Law etc. It puts the left brain on relax mode and let the right brain take over.

Anyone looking for this book should check out the local library or get it at Amazon

The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain

Leave a Reply

